Skip to main content

Vermont Fire Service Training Council

The Vermont Fire Service Training Council (VFSTC) consults and administers training programs for firefighters as established by the Vermont Fire Service Training Council Rules and Policies adopted pursuant to Chapter 25 of Title 3 (Administrative Procedure Act). Please visit the Vermont Statutes for more information on the Council.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Vermont Fire Service Training Council will be held on Thursday, October 12, 2023 at 10:00 a.m., location to be determined.

Meetings are generally held on the second Thursday of February, June, and October.  The meeting dates and location may vary.

Meeting Minutes

2010    2011    2012    2013    2014    2015    2016    2017    2018    2019

Important Memos:

Reciprocity Memo 2022-11-28

Council Members

Chief Aaron Collette
Vermont Career Chiefs Association
Williston Fire Department
645 Talcott Road
Williston, VT 05495
Phone:  802-878-5622

Professional Firefighters of Vermont

Chief Walter (Skip) Bothfield
Vermont Chiefs Association
Cabot Fire Department
1042 Witherspoon Road
Cabot, VT 05647
Phone:  802- 563-2715

Chief F. Thomas Estey
Vermont State Firefighters Association
Starksboro Fire Department
P.O. Box 88
Starksboro, VT 05487
Phone: 802-453-4511

Member of the Insurance Community
Mr. Matt Miles

Union Mutual Fire Insurance Company
139 State Street
P.O. Box 158
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone:  802-223-5261

Member of the General Public
Mr. John Marcus, Vice-Chairman

University of Vermont
284 East Avenue
Burlington, VT 05405
Phone:  802-656-4363

Ex Officio Members:

Commissioner of the VT Department of Public Safety
Commissioner Jennifer Morrison

45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05676
Phone:  802-244-8718         

Division of Fire Safety
Director Michael Desrochers

45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-8200
Phone:  802- 479-7561

Commissioner of the VT Agency of Natural Resources
Designee:  Mr. Lars Lund

State Forest Fire Supervisor
Vermont Department of Forests, Parks & Recreation
271 North Main Street, Suite 215
Rutland, VT 05701
Phone:  802-786-3856

Commissioner of the VT Department of Education
Designee:  Mr. Robert Evans

Margolis Healy
128 Lakeside Avenue, Suite 302
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone:  802-839-0448

Commissioner of the VT Department of Labor
Designee:  Mr. Dan Whipple, VOSHA Manager

5 Green Mountain Drive
PO Box 488
Montpelier, VT 05601-0488
Phone:  802- 828-5084

Commissioner of the VT Department of Health
Designee: Bambi Dame

Office of Health Preparedness & EMS
108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05402
Phone:  802–863-7281            

Non-Voting Members:
Michael Skaza, Chief of Training
Vermont Fire Academy
93 Davison Drive
Pittsford, VT  05763
Phone:  802-483-2754