
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

Vermont Department of Public Safety  

DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY  
Office of the State Fire Marshal, State Fire Academy and State HAZMAT Team 

 

CERTIFICATE OF FITNESS 
(Oil Burning, Gold,Silver or Bronze – Fixed Fire Extinguishing System – 
Gas (Natural / Propane) - Chimney Sweeps – Emergency Generators) 

 ALL CLASSIFICATIONS 
 

We are required by the state of Vermont to have these forms filled out for our records each time you apply for a Commission, license or 
renewal. Be aware that if the information that is requested is not filled out completely it could be returned to you and delay the process. 

APPLICATION TYPE AND FEES 
 T2 – Fixed Fire Extinguishing Systems Initial Fee = $60.00 Renewal Fee = $20.00 
 T4 – Chimney Sweeps Initial Fee = $30.00 Renewal Fee = $30.00 
 T6 – Emergency Generators Initial Fee = $30.00 Renewal Fee = $30.00 
 OG – Oil Burning - Gold Initial Fee = $60.00 Renewal Fee = $60.00 
 OS – Oil Burning - Silver Initial Fee = $60.00 Renewal Fee = $60.00 
 OB – Oil Burning - Bronze Initial Fee = $60.00 Renewal Fee = $60.00 

APPLICANT INFORMATION 
Last Name: First: Middle: Birth date: Age: Sex: 

     M F 
Street address: Social Security Number: Home phone number: 

   
P.O. box: City: State: ZIP Code: 

    
EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Present Employer: Employer address: Employer phone no.: 
  (  ) 
Employment Dates: Duties as employee: 

  
to  

  
INSTRUCTIONS 

Please Initial the statement below to verify completion of application before submission 
 Application is filled out ENTIRELY and to the best of my knowledge 
 Appropriate documentation is INCLUDED 
Signature:                                                                                                   Date:        

MAIL APPLICATION TO: DIVISION OF FIRE SAFETY 100 MINERAL ST STE 307 SPRINGFIELD,VT   05156 
---OFFICE USE ONLY--- 

Date Received: Check #: Amount: License: Board Review Date: 
   

$   

Board Comments: Board Decision: 
 Approved Denied 
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Applicant's Statement Regarding: 
Child Support, Taxes, Unemployment Compensation, Fines & Penalties 

 
 

Child Support [15 V.S.A. § 795] - You must check one of the statements below regarding child support: As of 
this date: 

 
 
 

I do not have any children,  
I do not owe any child support,  
I do owe child support, but am under a plan with the Office of Child Support to pay all child support 
due 

This certification is in regards to any children residing in Vermont, and where the license/certificate holder is a 
resident of Vermont, to any children residing in any other state or territory of the United States.  

For assistance: Office of Child Support, 280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05676 [Phone]800-786-3214 
 

 
Taxes [32 V.S.A. § 3113] - You must check one of the statements below regarding taxes. As of this date: 

 
All tax returns have been filed. I do not owe any taxes,  
I owe taxes but am under a plan with the Department of Taxes to pay all taxes due, or the tax 
payments are under appeal 

For assistance: Vermont Department of Taxes, 133 State Street Montpelier, VT 05633  
[phone] 802-828-6809 

 
Unemployment Compensation [21 V.S.A. § 1378] - You must check one of the statements below regarding 
unemployment contributions or payments in lieu of unemployment contributions. As of this date: 

 
I am not now, nor have I ever been, an employer;  

I do not owe any unemployment compensation,  
I owe unemployment compensation but am under a plan with the Unemployment Division to pay 
any and all unemployment compensation due 

To determine status of a payment plan, or for assistance, contact the department of labor 
[(802) 828-4254] 

 
Fine or Penalty [4 V.S.A. § 1110] – You must check one of the statements below regarding a fine or penalty 
issued by the judicial bureau or district court. As of this date: 

 
I am not under any obligation to pay a fine or penalty due to any unpaid judgment issued by the 
judicial bureau or district court,  
I am under such an obligation and am in good standing with respect to the obligation because 60 
days or fewer have elapsed since the date a judgment was issues, or due to a repayment plan 
approved by the judiciary 

For assistance: Office of Court Administrator, 109 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05609-0701 
[(802) 828-3278] 

 
Statement of Applicant 

I certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that all information I have provided in this application 
is true and accurate. I understand that furnishing false information may constitute unprofessional 

conduct and result in the denial of my application for licensure/certification or renewal. (The maximum 
penalty for perjury is 15 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine. 13 VSA § 2901) 

 
 

Signature of Applicant:    Date    
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STATE CERTIFICATION 

 
 

STATE 
CATEGORY 

 
 

REQUIRMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION 

 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
Inspection and testing of fire alarm and detection 

systems and equipment 

 
 

T1 

 
A current Vermont Master Electrician, 

Journeyman Electrician or Type-S Journeyman 
Commercial Fire Alarm license 

 
8 hours of related instruction for 

Master and Journeyman 
Electrician 

 
 
 
 

Design, installation, inspection, servicing or 
recharging of fixed fire extinguishing systems 

 
 
 
 
 

T2 

 

 
 

A current certificate from  
1) the National Institute for Certificate in 

Engineering Technologies (NICET) for fire 
suppression or  

2) the National Association of Fire Equipment 
Distributors (NAFED) 

 
Prior to 07/01/11 a person may 

obtain a certificate of fitness 
through documented training by 

the manufacturer of fire 
suppression systems acceptable 
to the AHJ or renew a certificate 
of fitness by completing 8 hrs of 

related instruction. 
 
 

Installation, maintenance, repair and testing for 
fire sprinkler and standpipe systems, including 

private above ground fire mains and fire pumps 

 
 
 

T3 

 

1) Completion of an approved fire sprinkler 
apprentice program or  

2) Four years of documented supervised 
experience and meeting the testing 

requirements established by the division. 

 
 
 

15 hours of related instruction 

Calculations and design for fire sprinkler and 
standpipe systems, including aboveground fire 
mains and fire pumps NOTE: A person with this 
TQP shall also be permitted to install, maintain, 

repair and test fire sprinkler and standpipe 
systems 

 

 
 
 

NICET 

 
 

1) A current level III certificate, or higher, for 
automatic fire sprinkler systems from NICET  

2) or a Current State of Vermont Fire Protection 
Engineer license 

 
 

A current NICET certificate or a 
current Vermont Fire Protection 

Engineer license 

 
 

Cleaning, maintenance and evaluation of 
chimneys and solid fuel burning appliances 

 
 
 

T4 

 
 

A current certificate from the Chimney Safety 
Institute of America 

 
A current certificate from the 
Chimney Safety Institute of 

America 

 
 
Installation, maintenance, repair and testing for 

emergency generators 

 
 
 

T6 

 
Documented competency and experience through 

training by the manufacturer acceptable to the 
Division of Fire Safety 

 
 
 

8 hours of related instruction 
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STATE CERTIFICATION 

 
 

STATE 
CATEGORY 

 
 

REQUIRMENTS FOR 
CERTIFICATION 

 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
LIMITED installation, maintenance, inspection and 
testing for domestic fire sprinkler systems with not 

more than 6 sprinklers for any isolated hazard area in 
accordance with 101:9.7.1.2 or an automatic fire 

sprinkler in accordance with NFPA 13D, Standard for 
Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One and Two 

Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes, 
including multipurpose piping systems 

 
 
 
 
 

T8 

 
 
 
 

Documented competency and 
experience acceptable to the Division 

of Fire Safety 

 
 
 
 
 

8 hours of related instruction 

 
 
 

Installation, inspection and service of oil burning 
equipment 

 
 
 

OG 

 
 

A Gold certificate from National 
Oil heat Research Alliance(NORA) 

 

8 hours including at least 2 hours 
regarding the prevention of CO leakage 
and the procedure for inspection or a 

current Gold certificate from NORA 

 
 

Installation, inspection and service of oil burning 
equipment 

 
 
 

OS 

 
 
 

A Silver certificate from National 
Oil heat Research Alliance(NORA) 

 

8 hours including at least 2 hours 
regarding the prevention of CO 
leakage and the procedure for 
inspection or a current silver 

certificate from NORA 
 
 

LIMITED installation, repair and maintenance of oil 
burning equipment not including placing a new unit 

in service 

 
 
 

OB 

 
 

A Bronze certificate from National 
Oil heat Research Alliance(NORA) 

 

8 hours including at least 2 hours 
regarding the prevention of CO 
leakage and the procedure for 
inspection or a current bronze 

certificate from NORA 
 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
• All TQP certifications are for three (3) years. 
• Continuing education must be completed within a licensee’s 36-month certification period. 
• Continuing education cannot be used for more than one renewal. 
• Tax Certification required by 32 V.S.A. Section 3113 ;  

Child Support Certification required by 15 V.S.A. Section 795;  
Unemployment Compensation required by 21 V.S.A. Section 1378 and  
Fine or Penalty required by 4 V.S.A. Section 1110 must be signed and included with this renewal. 
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