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VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

Division of Fire Safety 
Office of the State Fire Marshal, State Fire Academy and State Haz-Mat Team 

www.vtfiresafety.org 

TQP Certification Application 
         Return this completed form and payment to the appropriate Office 

Department Use Only Site 

No.   

Date Paid  

Check#   

Amount   

ALL CLASSIFICATIONS 
We are required by the state of Vermont to have these forms filled out for our records each time you apply for a Commission, license or renewal. Be 
aware that if the information that is requested is not filled out completely it could be returned to you and delay the process. 

APPLICATION TYPE AND FEES 
T1 – Fire Alarm Initial = $90.00 Renewal = $90.00 
T3 – Fire Sprinkler 
I3 / 4 – Fire Sprinkler - Designer 
T8 – Domestic Fire Sprinkler System 

Initial = $115.00 
Initial = $150.00 
Initial = $60.00

Renewal = $50.00 
Renewal = $50.00 
Renewal = $20.00

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Last Name: First: Middle: Birth date:  Age: Sex: 
M F 

Mailing address: Home phone no.: 

City: State: Zip: Social Security Number: 

 EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 
P resent Employer: Employer address: Employer phone no.: 

Employment Dates: Duties as employee: 

 INSTRUCTIONS 

Please initial the statements below to verify completion of application before submission 

Application is filled out ENTIRELY and to the best of my knowledge 
Appropriate documentation is INCLUDED 

Date: S signature: 

Please contact the Central Office for any questions regarding this application:  (802) 479-7564 

Mail completed application to: 
Division of Fire Safety- Central Office
45 State Dr, Waterbury, VT 05671-8200
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Applicant's Statement Regarding: 
Child Support, Taxes, Unemployment Compensation, Fines & Penalties 

Child Support [15 V.S.A. § 795] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one) 

I do not have any children, OR 
I do not owe any child support, OR 
 I do owe child support, but am under a plan with the Office of Child Support to pay all child support 
Due 

This certification is in regards to any children residing in Vermont, and where the license/certificate holder is a resident of 
Vermont, to any children residing in any other state or territory of the United States. For assistance contact the Office of 

Child Support, 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, VT 05676 [(802) 241-2180] 

Taxes [32 V.S.A. § 3113] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one) 

All tax returns have been filed. I do not owe any taxes, OR 
I owe taxes but am under a plan with the Department of Taxes to pay all taxes due, or the tax payments are 
under appeal 

To determine status of a payment plan or appeal, or for assistance, contact the supervisor of tax collections [(802) 
828-6809]

Unemployment Compensation [21 V.S.A. § 1378] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one) 

I am not now, nor have I ever been, an employer; OR 
I do not owe any unemployment compensation, OR 
I owe unemployment compensation but am under a plan with the Unemployment Division to pay any and all 
unemployment compensation due 

To determine status of a payment plan, or for assistance, contact the department of labor 
[(802) 828-4254] 

Fine or Penalty [4 V.S.A. § 1110] – As of the date of this application: (you must check one) 

I am not under any obligation to pay a fine or penalty due to any unpaid judgment issued by the judicial bureau 
or district court, OR 
I am under such an obligation and am in good standing with respect to the obligation because 60 days or fewer 
have elapsed since the date a judgment was issues, or due to a repayment plan approved by the judiciary 

For assistance contact the Office of Court Administrator, 109 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05609-0701 [(802) 828-3278] 

Statement of Applicant 
I certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that all information I have provided in this application is true 

and accurate. I understand that furnishing false information may constitute unprofessional conduct and result in 
the denial of my application for licensure/certification or renewal. (The maximum penalty for perjury is 15 years 

in 
prison and/or a $10,000 fine. 13 VSA § 2901) 

Signature of Applicant: Date: 
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STATE CERTIFICATION STATE 
CATEGORY REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

Inspection and testing of fire alarm and detection 
systems and equipment T1 

A current Vermont Master Electrician, 
Journeyman Electrician or Type-S Journeyman 

Commercial Fire Alarm license 

8 hours of related instruction for 
Master and Journeyman Electrician 

Design, installation, inspection, servicing or 
recharging of fixed fire extinguishing systems T2 

A current certificate from 
1) the National Institute for Certificate in
Engineering Technologies (NICET) for fire 
suppression or  
2) the National Association of Fire Equipment
Distributors (NAFED)

Prior to 07/01/11 a person may obtain 
a certificate of fitness through 
documented training by the 

manufacturer of fire suppression 
systems acceptable to the AHJ or 
renew a certificate of fitness by 

completing 8 hrs of related instruction. 

Installation, maintenance, repair and testing for 
fire sprinkler and standpipe systems, including 

private above ground fire mains and fire pumps 
T3 

1) Completion of an approved fire sprinkler
apprentice program or
2) Four years of documented supervised
experience and meeting the testing 
requirements established by the division. 

15 hours of related instruction 

Calculations and design for fire sprinkler and 
standpipe systems, including aboveground fire 
mains and fire pumps NOTE : A person with this 
TQP shall also be permitted to install, maintain, 

repair and test fire sprinkler and standpipe 
systems 

N ICET 
1) A current level III certificate, or higher, for
automatic fire sprinkler systems from NICET
2) or a Current State of Vermont Fire Protection 

Engineer license 

A current NICET certificate or a 
current Vermont Fire Protection 

Engineer license 

Cleaning, maintenance and evaluation of 
chimneys and solid fuel burning appliances T4 A current certificate from the Chimney Safety 

Institute of America 
A current certificate from the 

Chimney Safety Institute of America 

Installation, maintenance, repair and testing for 
emergency generators T6 

Documented competency and experience through 
training by the manufacturer acceptable to the 

Division of Fire Safety 

 
8 hours of related instruction 
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STATE CERTIFICATION STATE CATEGORY REQUIRMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION 
CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 
LIMITED installation, maintenance, inspection 
and testing for domestic fire sprinkler systems 

with not more than 6 sprinklers for any isolated 
hazard area in accordance with 101:9.7.1.2 or 
an automatic fire sprinkler in accordance with 

NFPA 13D, Standard for Installation of Sprinkler 
Systems in One and Two Family Dwellings and 
Manufactured Homes, including multipurpose 

piping systems 

T8 Documented competency and experience 
acceptable to the Division of Fire Safety 8 hours of related instruction 

Installation, inspection and service of oil 
burning equipment 

OS A Silver certificate from NORA 

8 hours including at least 2 hours 
regarding the prevention of CO 
leakage and the procedure for 
inspection or a current silver 

certificate from NORA 

LIMITED installation, repair and maintenance of 
oil burning equipment not including placing a 

new unit in service 
OB 

A Bronze certificate from National 
Oil heat Research Alliance(NORA) 

8 hours including at least 2 hours 
regarding the prevention of CO 
leakage and the procedure for 
inspection or a current bronze 

certificate from NORA 

IMPORTANT 
INFORMATION 

•All TQP certifications are for three (3) years.
•Continuing education must be completed within a licensee’s 36-month certification period.

•Continuing education cannot be used for more than one renewal.
•Tax Certification required by 32 V.S.A. Section 3113 ; Child Support Certification required by 15 V.S.A. Section 795;

Unemployment Compensation required by 21 V.S.A. Section 1378 and Fine or Penalty 
required by 4 V.S.A. section 1110 must be signed and included with this renewal. 


	VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
	Department Use Only Site
	ALL CLASSIFICATIONS
	APPLICATION TYPE AND FEES
	EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION
	INSTRUCTIONS
	Please initial the statements below to verify completion of application before submission
	Application is filled out ENTIRELY and to the best of my knowledge
	Appropriate documentation is INCLUDED
	Please contact the Central Office for any questions regarding this application:  (802) 479-7564
	1311 US Rte 302 – Suite 600 Berlin
	Applicant's Statement Regarding:
	Child Support [15 V.S.A. § 795] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one)
	I do not have any children, OR
	Taxes [32 V.S.A. § 3113] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one)
	All tax returns have been filed. I do not owe any taxes, OR
	Unemployment Compensation [21 V.S.A. § 1378] - As of the date of this application: (you must check one)
	Fine or Penalty [4 V.S.A. § 1110] – As of the date of this application: (you must check one)
	For assistance contact the Office of Court Administrator, 109 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05609-0701 [(802) 828-3278]
	Statement of Applicant

	Last Name: 
	First: 
	Middle: 
	Birth date: 
	Age: 
	Mailing address: 
	Home phone no: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip: 
	Social Security Number: 
	P resent Employer: 
	Employer address: 
	Employer phone no: 
	Application is filled out ENTIRELY and to the best of my knowledge: 
	Appropriate documentation is INCLUDED: 
	Date: 
	I do not have any children OR: Off
	I do not owe any child support OR: Off
	I do owe child support but am under a plan with the Office of Child Support to pay all child support: Off
	All tax returns have been filed I do not owe any taxes OR: Off
	I owe taxes but am under a plan with the Department of Taxes to pay all taxes due or the tax payments are: Off
	I am not now nor have I ever been an employer OR: Off
	I do not owe any unemployment compensation OR: Off
	I owe unemployment compensation but am under a plan with the Unemployment Division to pay any and all: Off
	I am not under any obligation to pay a fine or penalty due to any unpaid judgment issued by the judicial bureau: Off
	I am under such an obligation and am in good standing with respect to the obligation because 60 days or fewer: Off
	Date_2: 
	T1 - Fire Alarm: Off
	T3 - Fire Sprinkler: Off
	T1 - Fire Sprinkler -Designer: Off
	T1 - Fire Alarm INITIAL 90: Off
	I3 - Fire Sprinkler Designer 150: Off
	T3 - Fire Sprinkler - 115: Off
	T8 - Domestic Fire Sprinkler -60: Off
	T1 - Fire Alarm - 90: Off
	T3 - Fire Sprinkler Renewal 50: Off
	T1 - Fire Sprinkler - Designer 50: Off
	T8 - Domestic Fire sprinkler Renewal 20: Off
	Male: Off
	female: Off
	Duties as employee: 
	employment date: 
	T8 - Domestic Fire Sprinkler System: Off


