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Directors Message
Michael Desrochers

Inside this issue: The fire academy recently received an AFG award of $500,000 to

construct a new burn building at the training facility in Pittsford. Last

Directors Message 1 year we secured an additional $300,000 in Capital Funds to pay for the
site and foundation work not covered by the AFG award. The total
SRR EL 2 estimated cost of the burn building is $800,000. Securing the $300,000 in

Capital funds was made possible with support from Public Safety
Commissioner, Keith Flynn, and the Vermont Legislature. We also
Fireworks Safety 6 appreciate and thank our Washington Delegation for all the support
allowing our first responders to receive critical equipment and training to

Hazmat Notes 4

S G D 9 make Vermont a safer place.

Contact Information 9 The old burn building was erected in 1999 with a 10 year life expectancy
based on repetitive heating and cooling of the concrete. Since
approximately 2009, Building and General Services (BGS) and the

Upcoming Board Academy have provided heat shielding panels to the burn building
meetings reducing heat impingement of the concrete. Additionally core samples

have been taken and evaluated by a structural engineer. Academy staff
Electrical Board Meeting: worked hard on this initiative and we are certain the new burn building
June 7, 2016 9AM will be designed to meet the training needs of the future. The new

Elevator Board Meeting: building will have a 3 story tower, a residential section with attic space

June 14, 2016 9AM and an annex- 1 story. There will be 2 roof chop out sections for
ventilation training and a tower configured for rope rescue and rappelling
Access Board Meeting: training. There will be a standpipe system in the tower, a smoke
June 27, 2016 1:30PM distribution system and exhaust fan for clearing the building of
Plumbing Board Meeting: smoke. The new building will be more than double the square footage of
July 12, 2016, 9AM the old building and will offer fire fighters new training options. The life

expectancy of the new burn building will be 25 years as compared to 10
years on the old building.

The Fire Academy in partnership with the Clean-Energy States Alliance
and the Department of Public Service hosted a work shop (train the
trainer) on rooftop solar photovoltaics installations for Vermont Fire

It’s Time to

Get Your Academy Instructors. Information learned from the work shop will
enable fire safety instructors to deliver solar training to fire fighters
NFIRS across the State at no cost. Solar systems mounted on rooftops pose

inherent hazards including possible accidental electrocution while posing
R ep orts challenges in roof venting operatior}s. The:t."e remains wo‘rk to be done on

the course material and the intent is to deliver the class in every county.
Up-to-Date! We do not know exactly how long the instruction will be but best
estimates range from 3-4 hours. There will be no testing and a certificate
of attendance will be provided. There will be more to follow on this in the
near future but we plan on delivering this to every county.
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GRILLING STATISTICS

JUNE 2016

from

KNOWING A FEW FIRE
SAFETY GRILLING TIPS WILL
HELP EVERYONE HAVE A SAFE SUMMER.

8 P 90 home fires are siarted by

grills each year, on average

J I is the peak month for grill fires,
U y followed by May, June and August

In 2014.] 6,600 i

patients went to the ER because
of injuries involving grills; including

8 P 70 O thermal burns
R

7 50/ of U.S. households own at least
© one outdoor BBQ, grill or smoker

L] Gas grills contribute to a a
B higher numbers of fires than [l
o charcoal grills.

4 _ Keep a
* Only use your — C TSN, 3-foot safe
grill outside. zone around
your grill and
campfire.

Keep it away
from siding and
deck rails.

Clean your
grill after each % Place the coals

use. This will |
| from your grill
remove grease :
in a metal can
that can start a fire. < =
with a lid once

they have

eye on

your grill,
fire pit
or patio

X STAY FIRE-SAFE torches. Never leave any of them unattended.

Open your gas grill before lighting.

of households
own a gas grill

THIS SUMMER!

Source For more information and resources, visit
NFPA's "Home Fires Involving Cooking Equipment™ 2016 report www.usfa.fema.gov and www.nfpa.org.

Be Carbon Monoxide Aware!

Carbon Monoxide (CO) is potentially fatal and even low-levels of the
poison can cause lasting damage to your health. You can't see it,
taste it or smell it but CO can kill quickly without warning.

NEVER take a portable / disposable barbecue into
an enclosed tented area or caravan for cooking or
heating purposes. Lethal levels of CO can be
produced in poorly ventilated areas.

Make sure your gas light or stove is

clean and well maintained, especially

if using them in enclosed spaces.

Be aware of the following

symptoms:

Headaches, dizziness, nausea,

vomiting, drowsiness and fatigue

Formore information about staying
safe, contact your site office.

10 ‘ ASSOCIATION OF : m :r:::lhna
% AMBULANCE e
www.COvictim.org = . CHIEF EXECUTIVES
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FQCUET&} Summer Fire Safety

Follow these simple
outdoor tips to
help you and those
you love stay fire
cafe this summer
season!

* Attend public fireworks
displays and lcave the
lighting to the professionals.

* Enjoy outdoor celcbrations and
cookouts but remember to keep a
3-foot “safe zone™ around grills
and campfires,

* Bulld camphires at lcast 15 fect away
from tent walls, shrubs or other
materials that burn.

For information and resources on this subject, visit:
www.usfa.fema.gov/citizens/focus

2 @ FEMA > CE
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Todd Cosgrove, Chief

Vermont Hazardous Materials Team (VHMRT)

Is Your Department Aware of the Clandestine Labs?

Clandestine, or illegal, drug laboratories are a new hazard to the response community and we
are seeing an increase in incidents in Vermont and with our neighboring States. Clandestine
labs pose inherent hazards to building occupants and first responders. Awareness of what to
look for, identifying available resources and recognizing the potential hazards will provide first
responders with valuable information so informed decisions can be made.

The Vermont State Police Clandestine Laboratory Enforcement Team (CLET) is the lead agency
for this type of incident.

The CLET works closely with DEA, VHMRT, and the Vermont National Guard 15th Civil Sup-
port Team. The team also assists Vermont law enforcement agencies with clandestine laborato-
ries, assessments, and training.

The CLET team responds to multiple clandestine laboratories per year. The most common re-
sponses are for one pot methamphetamine manufacturing (METH) and hash oil extraction

(BHO) labs.

A clandestine laboratory is any laboratory that manufactures illegal, controlled drugs or sub-
stances. These labs have been found in single and multiple family dwellings, motel rooms,
campgrounds, mini-storage buildings, and motor vehicles, especially rental trucks. Commonly,
they are found in remote areas because the odors that emanate from these labs reveal their op-
eration.

Many of the hazards associated with making illegal drugs are derived from the ingredients,
many of which are hazardous substances. Some are raw products or pure chemicals but many
ingredients come from over-the-counter products such as cold medicine, dietary supplements,
and even Drano. When these products are released they can harm responders through inhala-
tion or skin contact.

Common chemicals used to manufacture meth include;
e Toluene found in paint thinner

e Methanol found in gas tank anti-freeze "Heet"

o Ethyl Ether found in starting fluid

e Anhydrous ammonia found at farmer’s co-ops

e Hydrochloric acid found in hardware stores
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Common chemicals used to manufacture meth include (Continued)
e Ephedrine found in cold medicine or dietary supplements

e Sodium hydroxide found in "Drano" or Red Devil Lye

e  Sulfuric acid found in battery acid or drain cleaners

e Jodine crystals found in iodine crystals or tincture of iodine

¢ Red phosphorous found in striker plates

e Lithium found in camera batteries

As you can see substances that are used in meth labs are corrosive, flammable, or toxic. Equipment used
to make these drugs include jars, chemical bottles, propane tanks with green fittings (from ammonia re-
action with brass fitting), cans of Coleman Fuel, glass cookware, heating plates, coffee filters, and glass
or plastic tubing.

As First Responders, if you note larger than normal amounts of the above chemicals or any of the equip-
ment noted above and you suspect a "meth" lab, take the following actions;

Leave the area and do not touch anything
Do not open any coolers, containers, boxes, bottles, or doors
Do not turn on, or off, any electrical devices

Report it immediately to local or State Police agency

Local Responders (Fire and EMS) are called upon to support the teams when activation is required to
deal with a Clandestine or illegal, drug laboratories. These resources are required to be present whenev-
er any operations are being completed.

The VHMRT in an effort to be better prepared to respond to incidents, has ordered a new Response Ve-
hicle, which will allow us to have a response vehicle placed in the northeastern area of the state, which
puts a vehicle in each Public Safety District. This vehicle will be a rapid response vehicle used to sup-
port our team and the USAR team’s activities.

One last reminder: Any spill should be reported through the HAZMAT HOTLINE — 800-641-5005

If you have any non-emergency HAZMAT questions or suggestions please contact me.
Todd J. Cosgrove, Chief
VHMRT

802-479-7586
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Fireworks Salety

Fireworks are dangerous and unpredictable, especially in the hands of amateurs. Public fireworks displays conducted by
trained professionals and supervised by local fire departments are a good alternative to personal fireworks use. These

displays are the smartest and safest way to enjoy fireworks.

In Vermont all fireworks (not including Sparklers and other novelty smoke

devices) are illegal except for permitted, supervised public fireworks

displays.

[£S

Vermont Explosives and Fireworks Law
Title 20: Internal Security and Public Safety Chapter 177: Explosives And Fireworks

Subchapter 3: Fireworks § 3132. Prohibitions; permits

(a) Except as provided in this section, it shall be unlawful for any person, firm, co-

partnership, or corporation to do any of the following:

(1) Offer for sale, expose for sale, sell at retail or wholesale, or possess fireworks unless
the person has been issued a permit by the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and
Firearms in addition to the municipality in which the person offers for sale and stores the

fireworks.

(2) Use, possess, or explode any fireworks unless the person has been issued a permit to

display fireworks pursuant to subsection (c) of this section.

(3) Transport fireworks except in interstate commerce

(4) Offer for sale or sell hand-held sparklers as described in subdivision 3131(1) of this title

to a minor.

(5) Offer for sale or sell sparklers that are not in compliance with the United States

Consumer Product Safety Commission regulations.

FIREWORKS DISPLAY PERMITS

Title 20: Chapter 177: Subchapter 3: § 3132.

(c ) Any display for which a permit is issued shall be
handled by a competent operator to be approved by the
chiefs of police and fire departments of the municipality in
which the display is to be held and shall be of a character,
and so located, discharged or fired as, in the opinion of the
chief of the fire department, or in a municipality with no fire
department, the selectboard, after proper inspection, shall
not be hazardous to property or endanger any person or
persons.

(d) Application for permits shall be made to the chief of the
fire department, or in municipalities with no fire department,
the selectboard, in writing, at least 15 days in advance of the
date of the display. After the permit has been granted, sales,
possessions, use and distribution of fireworks for the display
shall be lawful for that purpose only. No permit granted shall
be transferable

lllegal fireworks include “bottle rockets,”
Roman candles, rockets with sticks, mines
and shells, helicopter-type rockets, missile-
fountains and
firecrackers.

Under Vermont law,
officials can seize illegal
fireworks and you can be
fined up to $100.00 per
violation and/or arrested.

It's also important to
remember that you can be
held civilly liable for
damages resulting from
improper use of any
fireworks - legal or illegal.

SPARKLER SAFETY TIPS

To help ensure that everyone enjoys a safe summer, the Vermont
Division of Fire Safety, the National Council on Fireworks Safety,
NFPA and your local Fire Department offer the following safety tips:

e Obey the local laws and use common sense.

« Always read and follow instructions. Always have an adult
present.

* Keep burning sparklers away from clothing and flammable
objects.

e Only use sparklers outdoors, away from buildings and
vehicles.

* Light only one sparkler at a time.

* Alcohol, fireworks and sparklers do not mix. Be
responsible.

* Do not point or throw sparklers at another person

¢ Children under the age of 12 should not handle sparklers.

* When finished, place used sparklers in a bucket of water.

Despite efforts to educate people about the hazards of fireworks,
problems with personal use still continue. Some people still conduct
backyard fireworks displays despite laws against their use and the
great danger to themselves and others

Individuals concemed about neighbors using fireworks are reminded
that Fourth of July festivities result in increased activity for all public
safety agencies, i.e., crowd control, fires, traffic issues, etc. Because
resources are limited, priority must be given to truly hazardous
situations

Individuals with a fire or medical emergency should call 9-1-1; other
situations should be reported via the non-emergency number.

Additional information and fire safety education material on back

This educational resource sheet does not carry the force of legal opini

and was d

d by the Vi

MMBWbMMbmmM:ahlyofalvmmsﬁnsMMthMuMMthmwmwwhmﬁdmywy
t Division of Fire Safety Public Education and Information Section, with information provided
by; The U.S. mwmmwmmmmmm MMU&WWMOWMWM«MMMWN

sheets please visit www.firesafety.vermont.gov
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For Vermont Public Fireworks Display Checklist, Sample Municipal Fireworks Display Permit and
additional fireworks safety resources go to http://firesafety.vermont.qov/pubed/media/sparklers

safety steps.

Consumers who decide to purchase legal fireworks are urged to take these

* Make sure the fireworks you want to buy are legal in your area before buying or using them.

* Never allow young children to play with or ignite fireworks, including sparklers. Parents may not realize that
young children suffer injuries from sparklers. Sparklers burn at temperatures of about 2,000 degrees — hot
enough to melt some metals.

* Always have an adult closely supervise fireworks activities if older children are allowed to handle devices.

* Avoid buying fireworks that are packaged in brown paper because this is often a sign that the fireworks were
made for professional displays and could pose a danger to consumers.

* Never place any part of your body directly over a fireworks device when lighting the fuse. Back up to a safe

distance immediately after lighting fireworks.

Keep a bucket of water or a garden hose handy in case of fire or other mishap.

Never try to relight or handle malfunctioning fireworks. Soak them with water and throw them away.

Never point or throw fireworks at another person.

Light fireworks one at a time, then move back quickly.

Never carry fireworks in a pocket or shoot them off in metal or glass containers.

After fireworks complete their burning, douse the spent device with plenty of water from a bucket or hose before

discarding the device to prevent a trash fire.

e ATF encourages the public to report the manufacture or sale of illegal fireworks to your local law enforcement
agencies or to the ATF hotline at 1-888-ATF-BOMB (1-888-283-2662).

Fixeworxks
Injuries
Fireworks. Do mmemmo

of Independence Day. Yet, the thrll of ireworks can also
bring pam, and even death. In 2014, CPSC staf conducted
a study of ireworks tyurios from June 20 through July 20.
Hero's what we learned.

Y 230 pecple on average go to the emergency room
avery day with fmoworks-related mjuries i the month
around the July ¢th hobday.

W 67 % oftheso Sireworks infurios tn 2014 oecurred
durmg the month surrounding July 4th

* 9 poople died due to 8 firewarks related incadents. In
atleast 2 incidents, the victims WERE NOT THE USERS.

x *

Most Injured Body Parts
19%
o _19%
360/0 /?\A/Ileads faces

and ears

| 5%

Arms

More than
50%
of the injuries
were buras

x *

Injuries by

Fireworks Type*
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Sparkler
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* Multiple
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Fountains '
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Public Display

TThare pariardn b bt wo skt Lot b ey odade we el

x —

Injuries by Age

11% 11% 9%
20-24 4564

15% 12% 34%
5.9 1519 2544

K—— *

x *
Fireworks Safety Tips

% Never allow €hild¥en (o play with
p
or sgnite Sroworks.

* Neveruyore-ightoplek up
fireworks that have not ignited fully.

% Kecpa bucket of waterx ora
garden hosSe handy in case of fire or
other mishap,

Y Make sure fireworks are 10 Al in your arca
before buying or using them.

% Light fireworks OM€ At a time,
then IMOVE back quicky.

W More Rireworks Safaty Tips ~

Bowrse LI Conmanar Prociad lafary Coownlasbon B00) Mimecha Movasad Papauat

*— —%

U.S. Consumer Product
Safety Comumission
CPSC Hotline: (800) 638-2772
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State of Vermont Dept of Public Safety

CALENDAR OF
Division of Fire Safety
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June 2016
DON’'T FORGET

SUN MON | TUE | WED | THU | FRI | SAT
1 2 3 4

- . . 5 5 0 |11 Fathers Day is June 19th!

7 Electrical Board Meeting BERLIN
19 20 21 22 23 24 25

14 Elevator Board Meeting BERLIN

15 Division Training BERLIN
26 27 28 29 30

27 Access Board Meeting BERLIN

% y(une - July 4th)s

TR
S

x o,

* \\l// ".
Wl — — s w
- w: N - -
N LN 78 %

1 2 AMERICA
4th JULY :
3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [NOREENDEAIE P
'._7‘\\_"*.
10 |11 12 13 14 |15 | 16 * ‘o

17 18 19 20 21 22 23

24 25 26 27 28 29 30

31

~BOARD DEADLINE REMINDER~ | DGRl ecrt B oection|

If you have a board agenda item, it needs to be 4 Independence Day ~ State Offices Closed ALL

received at the Central Office 12 PIumbing Board BERLIN
no later than 2 weeks prior to the board meeting.
(for all boards — Access, Electrical, Elevator & Plumbing) 25 Access Board BERLIN




State of Vermont Division of Fire Safety JUNE 2016
1311 US Route 302—Berlin Suite 600

Barre, VT 05641-2351

FIRESAFETY.VERMONT.GOV

To be added to the monthly newsletter email
mailing list contact the Central Office
(802) 479-7561

REMEMBER .... Smoke Detectors, Fire Sprinklers and Carbon
Monoxide Detectors Save Lives

Vermont Department of Public Safety

Division of Fire Safety

Central Office HAZMAT Response Team Vermont Fire Academy
. Phone (802) 479-7586 . ]
1311 US Route 302— Suite 600 Fax (802) 479-7562 93 Davison Drive
Barre, VT 05641-2351 Toll Free (800) 641-5005 Pittsford, VT 05763
Phone (802) 479-7561 Fax (802) 479-7562 Phone (802) 483-2755 Fax (802) 483-2464
Toll Free (800) 640-2106 Toll Free (800) 615-3473
Regional Offices:
Williston Barre
380 Hurricane Lane— Suite 101 1311 US Route 302— Suite 500
Williston, VT 05495-2080 Barre, VT 05641-7301
Phone (802) 879-2300 Fax (802) 879-2312 Phone (802) 479-4434 Fax (802) 479-4446
Toll Free (800) 366-8325 Toll Free (888) 870-7888
Rutland Springfield
56 Howe Street, Building A— Suite 200 100 Mineral Street— Suite 307
Rutland, VT 05701 Springfield VT 05156-3168
Phone (802) 786-5867 Fax (802) 786-5872 Phone (802) 885-8883 Fax (802) 885-8885
Toll Free (888) 370-4834 Toll Free (866) 404-8883

DIVISION OF STATE POLICE—FIRE INVESTIGATION

Waterbury—45 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05671-1300— (802) 244-8781—Fax (802) 241-5371



